Beauty for a Better Life

beauty for a better life
beauty for a better life

 

Last September 2017, L’Oréal Canada and the L’Oréal Foundation, in partnership with the Women’s Centre of Montréal, the Women’s Y Foundation and Dannyco Professional, launched the 2nd Edition of the Beauty for a Better Life program, an initiative that offers vulnerable women a free apprenticeship in the hairdressing trades as well as a chance to a better life.

Already in place in close to 30 countries, the Beauty for a Better Life training program is the result of a strong partnership between the L’Oréal Foundation, the group’s subsidiaries and well-known local stakeholders such as NGOs and governmental authorities. Drawing on the expertise of the L'Oréal Group, the program offers new perspectives to nearly 4,000 people facing socio-economic difficulties by training them in the hairdressing trades. "We launched this unique program because we strongly believe that Beauty helps you feel better and do better," mentions Frank Kollmar, President and CEO of L'Oréal Canada. "The goal of the program is to offer new opportunities to women who are experiencing socially and economically difficult situations by offering them an apprenticeship in the beauty trades, which are service driven and foster social ties and exchanges, as well as passion and creativity".

The 2nd edition of the Beauty for a Better Life program was launched at the subsidiary’s head office in Montreal last September with 16 participants. “This program offers participants 500 hours of training with the goal of providing them with the technical skills, the motivation and the self-confidence necessary to enter the hairdressing professional trade. Thanks to quality training, including a two-week internship in one of our partner salons and a L’Oréal Canada diploma, they will be equipped with the tools required to succeed”, explained Quoc Chay, President of the Professional Products Division at L’Oréal Canada.

The 16 participants of this second edition were chosen in collaboration with the Women’s Centre of Montréal and the Women’s Y Foundation. Roufia, one of the participants, said that “this program succeeded in uniting our different cultures and personalities towards a common passion: hairdressing. We are grateful to have the knowledge and tools necessary to seize this new career opportunity”.

For a second consecutive year, Dannyco Professional agreed to donate the uniforms, the schoolbags, and the training supplies required for the program. “We are very happy to be part of this wonderful initiative again and to encourage women to find a new career path in the world of hairdressing,” said Stéphanie Gougoux, Sales Director for Dannyco Professional.

In addition to their Dannyco kits, each participant received a much-appreciated boost from Le Château, who graciously offered gift certificates through their Corporate Social Responsibility program called Advance with Style, to each graduate so that they can revamp their wardrobe as they embark on their new career.

The Canadian participants, who graduated on April 17 during an emotional ceremony held at L'Oréal Canada's head office, will join the 17 Canadian participants of 2017 and the 3700 graduates of Beauty for a better life around the world. The Beauty for a Better Life program nurtures the ambition to offer new prospects to 20,000 beneficiaries by giving them the opportunity to access work by 2020.

Partners of the Beauty for a Better Life program are:

Women’s Centre of Montréal: https://en.centredesfemmesdemtl.org/
Women’s Y: http://www.ydesfemmesmtl.org/en/
Dannyco Professional: https://www.dannyco.com/
Le Château: https://www.lechateau.com/style/company/links/corporate.jsp?locale=en_CA


 


 

L’Oréal Canada launched the 1st edition of Beauty for a Better Life

In Canada, the Beauty for a Better Life program provides women with a professional qualification in hairdressing and a new chance in life. 

L’Oréal Canada and the L’Oréal Foundation, in partnership with the Women’s Centre of Montréal and Dannyco Professional, launched Beauty for a Better Life, a philanthropic program that trains women in need to become beauty professionals and take on valued positions within society.

The Beauty for a Better Life training program was born out of a strong partnership, in more than 27 countries, between the L’Oréal Foundation, L’Oréal Group subsidiaries, and other local players such as NGOs and government authorities. Its mission is to help women facing socio-economic difficulties regain self-esteem and reintegrate socially through free, top-quality beauty training programs in hairstyling, make-up or beauty care. “Beauty-related professions are not only characterized by social interaction and service provision, but are also professions where passion, creativity and imagination take center stage”, said Frank Kollmar, President and CEO of L’Oréal Canada. “L’Oréal Canada is convinced that these qualities positively impact one’s self confidence and motivate their professional development”, he continued.

Beauty for a Better Life made its debut in Canada at the company headquarters in Montreal last January 17th, 2017. “This 500 hour training program is launched with the objective of providing the participants with the skillsets, self-confidence and motivation in order for them to enter the professional trade. With quality training by our experts, long-term adapted support, including a two-week internship at one of our partner salons, and a L’Oréal Canada diploma, they will be equipped with the right tools to succeed”, explained Doriane Dalati, Vice-president, SRA, L’Oréal Zone Americas. “Our entire Professional Products Division teams are eager to be involved in this program by sharing techniques and advice and fostering collaborative work with local Canadian salons”, continued Quoc Chay, President of the Professional Products Division, L’Oréal Canada.

The participants in this first edition were all selected in collaboration with the Women’s Centre of Montreal, whose mission is to provide educational and vocational training, as well as information, counselling and referral services to help women help themselves. “Our focus is to help women earn their independence and lead productive and fulfilling lives, through personal and familial development as well as realizing professional goals”, said Johanne Bélisle, Executive Director of the Women’s Centre of Montréal. “This is why this partnership with L’Oréal Canada, is a perfect opportunity to help participants by providing them a unique training and immersion experience that will help them begin a new chapter in their life”.

Dannyco Professional, for their part has graciously donated the uniforms, schoolbags, training supplies as well as all the professional styling tools required for this program. “We are very proud to have the opportunity to contribute to this great initiative”, said Stéphanie Gougoux, Sales Director for Dannyco Professional.

The 17 Canadian participants, who all graduated last June 13th during a ceremony held at L’Oréal Canada’s headquarters with much pride, will join the 1300 Beauty for a Better Life graduates from around the world.

Beauty for a Better Life

beauty for a better life
beauty for a better life

 

L’Oréal Canada et la Fondation L’Oréal, en partenariat avec le Centre des femmes de Montréal, la Fondation Y des femmes de Montréal et Dannyco Professionnel ont lancé, en septembre dernier, la 2ème édition canadienne du programme La beauté pour une vie meilleure, qui offre à des femmes fragilisées un programme gratuit de formation au métier de la coiffure, tout en leur offrant en même temps une place dans notre société.

Le programme de formation La beauté pour une vie meilleure résulte d’un partenariat solide qui existe dans près de 30 pays entre la Fondation L’Oréal, les filiales du groupe, et des acteurs locaux reconnus comme les ONG et les autorités gouvernementales. Ce programme a jusqu’à présent permis d’offrir de nouvelles perspectives à près de 4000 personnes en situation de fragilité sociale et économique, en s’appuyant sur l’expertise du Groupe L’Oréal pour les former aux métiers de la coiffure. « Nous avons lancé ce programme parce que nous croyons fermement que la Beauté aide à se sentir mieux et à s’en sortir mieux », a expliqué M. Frank Kollmar, président-directeur général de L’Oréal Canada. « Ce programme unique nourrit l’ambition d’offrir de nouvelles perspectives à des femmes en situation de fragilité sociale et économique, en les formant aux métiers de la beauté, qui sont des métiers de service qui favorisent le lien social et les échanges, la passion et la créativité ».

Le programme canadien La beauté pour une vie meilleure 2ème édition a été lancé au siège social de la filiale à Montréal en septembre 2017 avec 16 participantes. « Ce programme de formation d’une durée de 500 heures a pour objectif de rendre aux participantes les habiletés techniques, la motivation et la confiance en soi nécessaires pour intégrer le marché professionnel de la coiffure. À travers un enseignement de qualité, qui inclut un stage de deux semaines dans un de nos salons partenaires et un diplôme L’Oréal Canada, elles auront tous les outils nécessaires pour réussir », a expliqué Quoc Chay, Président de la division des Produits professionnels chez L’Oréal Canada.

Les 16 participantes de cette deuxième édition ont été sélectionnées en collaboration avec le Centre des femmes de Montréal et la Fondation du Y des femmes de Montréal. Roufia, une des participantes, a déclaré que « ce programme a réussi à fédérer nos différentes cultures et personnalités vers une passion commune : la coiffure. Nous sommes reconnaissantes d’avoir les connaissances et les outils nécessaires pour pouvoir saisir une nouvelle opportunité de carrière ».

Dannyco Professionnel, pour leur part, ont accepté, pour une deuxième année consécutive, d’offrir gracieusement les uniformes, sacs d’école et les ensembles d’outils de formation requis pour ce programme. « Nous sommes très heureux de pouvoir participer à nouveau à cette belle initiative et encourager ces femmes à se trouver un nouveau chemin dans le monde de la coiffure », a dit Stéphanie Gougoux, directrice des ventes pour Dannyco Professionnel.

En plus de leur trousses Dannyco, les participantes ont chacune reçu, lors de cette soirée, un coup de pouce très apprécié de Le Château, qui a gracieusement offert, par le biais de son programme de responsabilité sociale Avancez avec style, des certificats-cadeaux à chacune d’entre elles afin qu’elles puissent revamper leur garde-robe à l’amorce de leur nouvelle carrière.

Les participantes canadiennes, qui ont graduées le 17 avril dernier lors d’une cérémonie chargée d’émotions qui s’est tenue au siège social de L’Oréal Canada, se joindront ainsi aux 17 participantes canadiennes de 2017 et aux 3700 graduées de La beauté pour une vie meilleure à travers le monde. Le programme La Beauté pour une vie meilleure nourrit l’ambition d’offrir de nouvelles perspectives à 20 000 bénéficiaires à travers le monde qui seront ainsi accompagnées vers l’emploi d’ici 2020.

Les partenaires de La Beauté pour une vie meilleure sont :

Centre des femmes de Montréal: https://centredesfemmesdemtl.org/
Fondation Y des femmes de Montréal: http://www.ydesfemmesmtl.org/
Dannyco Professionnel: https://www.dannyco.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-ca-dannyco-Site?lang=fr
Le Château: https://www.lechateau.com/style/company/links/corporate.jsp?locale=fr_CA

 

 

L’Oréal Canada lance la 1ère  édition du programme La beauté pour une vie meilleure

Au Canada, La beauté pour une vie meilleure offrira à des femmes une qualification professionnelle ainsi qu’un nouveau départ. 

L’Oréal Canada et la Fondation L’Oréal, en partenariat avec le Centre des femmes de Montréal et Dannyco Professionnel ont lancé le 17 janvier dernier La beauté pour une vie meilleure, un programme philanthropique qui offre à des femmes vivant des difficultés un programme gratuit d'éducation et de formations aux métiers de la coiffure et de la beauté, tout en leur offrant en même temps une place dans notre société.

Le programme de formation La beauté pour une vie meilleure résulte d’un partenariat solide qui existe dans plus de 27 pays entre la Fondation L’Oréal, les filiales du groupe, et des acteurs locaux reconnus comme les ONG et les autorités gouvernementales. Ce programme  offre de nouvelles perspectives à des femmes en situation de fragilité sociale et économique, en s’appuyant sur l’expertise du Groupe L’Oréal pour les former aux métiers de la beauté en coiffure et en maquillage. « Les métiers reliés à la beauté sont non seulement caractérisés par le lien social et la qualité du service mais sont des professions qui favorisent la passion, la créativité et l’imagination », a expliqué M. Frank Kollmar, président-directeur général de L’Oréal Canada. « L’Oréal Canada est convaincu que ces qualités auront un grand impact sur la confiance en soi et le développement professionnel des participantes ». 

La beauté pour une vie meilleure a été lancé en janvier 2017 au siège social de la filiale à Montréal. « Ce programme de formation d’une durée de 500 heures a pour objectifs de rendre aux participantes les habiletés, la motivation et la confiance en soi nécessaires pour intégrer le marché professionnel de la coiffure. À travers un enseignement de qualité, tout en leur offrant un accompagnement durable adapté, qui inclut un stage de deux semaines dans un de nos salons partenaires et un diplôme L’Oréal Canada, elles auront tous les outils nécessaires pour réussir », a expliqué Doriane Dalati, vice-présidente Académie de vente au détail, L’Oréal Amériques. « Toutes les équipes de la Division de Produits Professionnels sont impatientes de s’impliquer dans ce programme en partageant des techniques et des conseils, et en chapeautant la collaboration auprès des salons partenaires canadiens», a continué Quoc Chay, Président de la Division de Produits Professionnels, L’Oréal Canada.

Les participantes de cette première édition ont été sélectionnées en collaboration avec le Centre des femmes de Montréal, dont la mission est d’offrir des services à caractère professionnel et éducatif, de même que des services de conseil et d’orientation pour aider les femmes à s’aider elles-mêmes. . «Notre but est d’aider les femmes à acquérir leur autonomie et à mener une vie productive et enrichissante en favorisant leur développement personnel et familial et l’atteinte de leurs objectifs professionnels», a dit Johanne Bélisle, Directrice-générale du Centre des femmes de Montréal. « Dans le cadre de ce partenariat avec L’Oréal Canada, nous avons vu une façon unique d’offrir à nos participantes une formation de qualité combinée à une expérience d’immersion qui, nous l’espérons, leur permettra d’écrire un nouveau chapitre dans leur vie. »

Dannyco Professionnel a pour sa part accepté d’offrir gracieusement les uniformes, sacs d’école et les ensembles d’outils de formation requis pour ce programme. « Nous sommes très heureux de pouvoir participer à cette belle initiative », a dit Stéphanie Gougoux, directrice des ventes pour Dannyco Professionnel.

Les participantes canadiennes, qui ont toutes gradué le 13 juin dernier lors d’une cérémonie haute en émotions qui s’est tenue au siège social de L’Oraél Canada, à Montréal, se joindront aux 1300 graduées de La beauté pour une vie meilleure à travers le monde.