For Women in Science

FWIS logo
FWIS logo

 2017

Since 1998, the L’Oréal Corporate Foundation and UNESCO have been committed to increase the number of women working in scientific research. 150 years after Marie Curie’s birth, only 28%* of researchers are women and only 3% of Scientific Nobel Prizes are awarded to them. That is why, for the past 19 years, the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science programme has worked to honour and accompany women researchers at key moments in their careers. Since the programme began, it has supported more than 2,700 young women from 115 countries and celebrated 97 Laureates, at the peak of their careers, including professors Elizabeth H. Blackburn and Ada Yonath, who went on to win a Nobel Prize.

THE YOUNG WOMEN IN SCIENCE

who will have the power to change the world 

Each year, the International Rising Talents program selects the 15 most promising women scientists among the 250 national and regional fellows of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women In Science program. These young women have the power to change the world and recognizing them will help ensure that they reach their full potential.

Last March 23rd, for the 19th edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards Ceremony at the Maison de la Mutualité, the international scientific community gathered to honour and celebrate exceptional women scientists and their accomplishments in the physical sciences. The event was opened by Irina Bokova, Director General of UNESCO and Jean-Paul Agon, Chairman and CEO of L’Oréal and Chairman of the L’Oréal Foundation.

 

A Canadian selected as an International Rising Talent 2017

 

DR LORINA NACI

L’Oréal-UNESCO National Fellowship - Canada

Brain and Mind Institute at the University of Western Ontario 

IN A COMA: IS THE PATIENT CONSCIOUS OR UNCONSCIOUS?

In Canada alone, 1.4 million people are currently living with the consequences of an acquired brain injury, with 50,000 new cases each year. Coma is defined as an acute state of behavioral non-responsiveness in which the patient is thought to lack consciousness or have minimal consciousness. Although patient outcomes vary greatly, there is currently no clinical tool to evaluate whether they will recover or not. This situation poses serious problems – for example, how does a physician know whether to continue with life-sustaining therapies or not, especially in the first 72 hours? Dr Lorina Naci, cognitive neuroscientists at the University of Western Ontario (UWO) is hoping to change the way things are done. She has developed an innovative and powerful technique that can assess preserved brain function in comatose patients. The technique involves the patients listening to a short audio-story while inside an MRI scanner (Magnetic Resonance Imaging). This approach, which allows researchers to visualize cerebral activity, has already succeeded in detecting the signs of consciousness in a patient who has been in a vegetative state for 16 years. Dr Naci’s numerous publications on the subject have attracted the attention of other scientists in the field. “I will now be able to test my method on comatose patients in the intensive care unit - as soon as they arrive, and then one month and six months later,” explains the young scientist. “My goal is to determine the clinical prevalence of covert consciousness and identify novel and objective prognostic markers of recovery in these patients. These studies will not only have profound implications for diagnostics and care, but will also help medical and legal decision-making relating to life after severe brain injury.”

Stay connected on:

Facebook (L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science)

Twitter (@4womeninscience)

#womeninscience

2016 

 

5 outstanding young researchers recognized by L’Oréal Canada
through the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science program

 

During a ceremony held on November 15 at the French embassy in Ottawa, five Canadian researchers were honoured and rewarded through the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science program, with the support of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science program was created in 1998 with a simple goal: to ensure that women are equally represented in all scientific disciplines. Since its creation 18 years ago, the program honoured 92 fellows for the excellence of their scientific work and supported 2,438 young women scientists and talented young researchers. These exceptional researchers have helped the world advance, each in her own way.

In Canada, the program recognized over 60 promising young researchers, whose work contributes to the advancement of therapeutic treatments, to the improvement of food supply, to sustainable development, to the survival of our planet, to a better understanding of our universe and to an enhanced comprehension of the very foundation of life.

“The five 2016 fellows are living proof that, despite the obstacles, talent, passion, determination and boldness can change the world”, stated Mr. Frank Kollmar, President and CEO, L’Oréal Canada. “These young Canadian researchers contribute to the advancement of science and knowledge by their exceptional work.”

List of 2016 Fellows

The L’Oréal-UNESCO 2016 Excellence in Research Fellowships, each worth $20,000, are awarded to support major postdoctoral research projects undertaken by young Canadians. They reward excellence and allow top scientists, selected by a panel of experts, to further their research. Ms. Christina Cameron, President of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, had the pleasure to present them to:

  • Dr. Lorina Naci, PhD, Brain Injury, Cognition, Consciousness, Western University
  • Dr. Stephanie Vogt, PhD, Microbiology, University of British Columbia

To support the mission of the France Canada Research Fund (FCRF), fellowships of $5,000 each were awarded to encourage and develop scientific and university exchanges between France and Canada in all areas of knowledge, from fundamental science to human and social sciences. The L’Oréal Canada France Canada Research Fund 2016 fellows are:

  • Ms. Joanna Bundus, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Toronto
  • Ms. Stephanie Kedzior, Chemical Engineering, McMaster University

A $5,000 L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science – NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship Supplement was awarded to a Canadian scientist involved in a promising research project, namely:

  • Dr. Victoria Arbour, NSERC Postdoctoral Fellow, Evolutionary biologist and vertebrate palaeontologist, University of Toronto and Royal Ontario Museum

 

2015 

 

 

L’Oréal Canada reiterates its commitment to women in science

At a ceremony held on January 21 at the French embassy in Ottawa, seven Canadian women researchers were awarded top honors under the L'Oréal Canada For Women in Science Program with the support of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. The partners also took the opportunity to launch L’Oréal Canada For Girls in Science, an initiative to encourage high school girls to pursue careers in science.

Created in 1998 by L'Oréal and UNESCO, For Women in Science is now among the most prestigious programs of its kind. Since its inception, more than 2,250 scientists from over 110 countries have benefited from the program. In addition, national programs have been created in some sixty countries, including L'Oréal Canada For Women in Science in 2003 with the support of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. Thanks to the program, fellowships have been awarded to nearly 50 exceptional women scientists.

“The 2015 winners of the L’Oréal Canada For Women in Science Program fellowship embody the values of excellence, hard work, and innovation we want to encourage and support, in cooperation with the Canadian Commission for UNESCO,” said Frank Kollmar, President & CEO, L'Oréal Canada. “They are clear proof of the important role of Canadian women scientists, whose exceptional work contributes to the advancement of science and knowledge.”

 

L’Oréal Canada For Girls in Science Program launch

L’Oréal Canada took advantage of the ceremony to reiterate its commitment to promoting careers in science for women by putting in place a one-of-a-kind program for high school students. Called L’Oréal Canada For Girls in Science, this joint initiative with the Canadian Commission for UNESCO and Youth Science Canada marks a new level of involvement for the company.

In spring 2016, girls and boys at UNESCO network schools will take part in interactive workshops designed to make careers in science more attractive while breaking down the persistent stereotypes regarding women in the sciences.

To this end, L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science fellowship winners and women scientists at L’Oréal Canada will participate as mentors.

“It is both a great honor and a great responsibility to be a role model for these teens,” said Katherine Farrajota, Manager, Drug Regulatory Affairs, L’Oréal Canada. “Working in the sciences ourselves, we’re well aware of the need to attract more women to these professions. The L’Oréal Canada For Girls in Science Program is therefore a great opportunity to reach girls right when they’re thinking about their professional future.”

The fellowship winners will take part in creating Web capsules for girls age 15 to 18 to provide information and support them in their decision-making process.

Professor Molly S. Shoichetof the University of Toronto was selected by an independent international jury as one of five global laureates (representing North America) for her work in polymer chemistry.
Link for application
Link to the Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Pour les Femmes et la Science

FWIS logo
FWIS logo

2017

Le Prix L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science récompense chaque année 5 éminentes chercheuses issues de 5 régions du monde pour leurs contributions remarquables aux avancées de la science. Des chercheurs du monde entier sont invités à proposer des candidatures. La sélection finale est assurée par un jury indépendant composé de membres émérites de la communauté scientifique. 97 lauréates ont ainsi été mises à l’honneur, distinguées pour l’excellence de leurs travaux scientifiques, incluant les professeurs Elizabeth H. Blackburn et Ada Yonath, qui ont par la suite reçu le Prix Nobel.

DES JEUNES FEMMES SCIENTIFIQUES

Qui auront le pouvoir de changer le monde

Depuis 2001, le programme L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science valorise les réalisations des jeunes femmes à l’orée de leur carrière scientifique. Chaque année, le programme des Jeunes Talents Internationaux sélectionne les 15 meilleures femmes scientifiques parmi les 250 boursières nationales et régionales du programme L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science. Ces jeunes femmes ont le pouvoir de changer le monde et cette reconnaissance les aidera à concrétiser leur potentiel.

Le 23 mars dernier, pour la 19ème édition de la Cérémonie de remise des prix L'Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science à la Maison de la Mutualité, la communauté scientifique internationale s'est réunie pour honorer et célébrer des femmes scientifiques exceptionnelles et leurs réalisations en sciences physiques. L'événement a été ouvert par Irina Bokova, Directrice générale de l'UNESCO et Jean-Paul Agon, Président-directeur général de L'Oréal et Président de la Fondation L'Oréal.

 

Une canadienne parmi les Jeunes Talents Internationaux 2017

DR LORINA NACI

Boursière Nationale L’Oréal-UNESCO - Canada

Brain and Mind Institute de l’université Western Ontario

 

DANS LE COMA : CONSCIENT OU INCONSCIENT ?

Au Canada, 1,4 million de personnes vivent actuellement avec les conséquences d’une lésion cérébrale, avec 50 000 nouveaux cas chaque année. Le coma est défini comme un état aigu de non-réactivité comportementale dans lequel le patient est inconscient ou a une conscience minimale. Bien que l’évolution des patients varie considérablement, il n’existe actuellement aucun outil clinique pour évaluer leur capacité de guérison. Cette situation pose de sérieux problèmes - par exemple, comment le médecin peut-il savoir s’il faut ou non maintenir les thérapies vitales, notamment pendant les 72 premières heures ? Le Docteur Lorina Naci, neuroscientifique cognitive à l’université de l’Ouest Ontario (UWO) espère bouleverser les pratiques. Elle a développé une technique innovante et puissante qui permet d’évaluer les fonctions cérébrales préservées chez les patients comateux. La technique implique que les patients écoutent une courte histoire audio alors qu’ils sont à l’intérieur d’un scanner IRM (Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique). Cette technique qui permet de visualiser l’activité cérébrale lui a déjà permis de révéler des signes de conscience d’un patient dans un état végétatif depuis 16 ans. Ses nombreuses publications ont beaucoup retenu l’attention. « Je vais maintenant pouvoir tester ma méthode sur les patients comateux en unité de soins intensifs - dès leur arrivée, puis un mois et six mois plus tard », explique la jeune scientifique. «Mon but est de déterminer la prévalence clinique de la conscience cachée et d’identifier les marqueurs d’un pronostique, nouveau et objectif, de guérison chez ces patients. Ces études auront non seulement de profondes répercussions sur le diagnostic et les soins, mais aussi sur les décisions médicales et juridiques relatives à la vie après une grave lésion cérébrale. »

Restez branchés sur:

Facebook (L'Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science)

Twitter (@femmesetscience)

#femmesetscience 

 

2016

 

5 jeunes chercheuses émérites reconnues par L’Oréal Canada à travers le programme L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science

À l’occasion d’une cérémonie s’étant tenue le 15 novembre 2016 à l’ambassade de France à Ottawa, cinq chercheuses canadiennes se sont mérité les honneurs et ont été récompensées dans le cadre du programme L'Oréal Canada Pour les Femmes et la Science avec le soutien de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO.

Le programme L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science a été créé en 1998 avec une ambition : faire en sorte que les femmes soient représentées à parité dans toutes les disciplines scientifiques. Depuis sa création il y a 18 ans, le programme a mis à l’honneur 92 lauréates distinguées pour l’excellence de leurs travaux scientifiques et soutenu 2 438 jeunes femmes de science et jeunes chercheuses talentueuses. Ces chercheuses d’exception ont, chacune à leur façon, fait progresser le monde.

Au Canada, le programme a permis la reconnaissance de plus de 60 jeunes chercheuses prometteuses, dont les recherches contribuent à l’avancée des traitements thérapeutiques, à l’amélioration de l’approvisionnement alimentaire, au développement durable, à la survie de notre planète, à une meilleure compréhension de notre univers et à une connaissance accrue des fondements mêmes de la vie.

« Les 5 Boursières de l’édition 2016 prouvent que, malgré les obstacles, leur talent, leur passion, leur détermination et leur audace contribuent à changer le monde.», a déclaré monsieur Frank Kollmar, président-directeur général de L'Oréal Canada.  « Ces jeunes chercheuses canadiennes contribuent à l’avancement de la science et de la connaissance par leur travail exceptionnel ».

 

Liste des boursières 2016 

Les bourses Excellence en Recherche L'Oréal-UNESCO 2016, d’une valeur de 20 000 dollars chacune, visent à soutenir des projets de recherche majeurs entrepris par des Canadiennes de niveau postdoctoral. Elles récompensent l'excellence et permettent à des scientifiques chevronnées, sélectionnées par un jury d'experts, de poursuivre leurs recherches. Madame Christina Cameron, Présidente de la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO, a eu le plaisir de les remettre à :

Dre. Lorina Naci, PhD, lésions cérébrales, cognition et conscience, Université Western

Dre. Stephanie Vogt, PhD, Microbiologie, Université de Colombie-Britannique

Dans le cadre de la mission du Fonds France-Canada pour la Recherche (FFCR), des bourses de 5 000 dollars chacune ont été remises pour encourager et développer les échanges scientifiques et universitaires entre la France et le Canada dans tous les domaines de la connaissance, des sciences pures aux sciences humaines et sociales. Les récipiendaires des bourses L'Oréal Canada Fonds France-Canada pour la recherche 2016, sont :

Madame Joanna Bundus, Écologie et évolution biologique, Université de Toronto

Madame Stephanie Kedzior, Génie chimique, Université McMaster

De plus, la bourse CRSNG L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science 2016, d’une valeur de 5 000 dollars, a été remise à une scientifique canadienne participant à un projet de recherche prometteur. Il s’agit de :

Dre. Victoria Arbour, Boursière postdoctorale du CRSNG, Biologiste évolutionniste et paléontologue spécialisée en vertébrés, Université de Toronto et Musée royal de l’Ontario

  

2015 

 

L’Oréal Canada réitère son engagement envers les femmes en science

À l’occasion d’une cérémonie s’étant tenue le 19 janvier à l’ambassade de France à Ottawa, sept chercheuses canadiennes se sont mérité les honneurs et ont été récompensées dans le cadre du programme L'Oréal Canada Pour les Femmes et la Science avec le soutien de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO. Les partenaires en ont aussi profité pour  lancer L’Oréal Canada Pour les Filles et la Science, une initiative visant la promotion des carrières scientifiques chez les jeunes filles de niveau secondaire.

 

 

Créé en 1998, par L'Oréal et l'UNESCO, Pour les Femmes et la Science est aujourd'hui l'un des plus prestigieux programmes dans le domaine scientifique. Depuis ses tout débuts, plus de 2250 scientifiques provenant de plus de 110 pays ont bénéficié du programme. De plus, des programmes nationaux ont été créés dans une soixantaine de pays, dont L'Oréal Canada Pour les Femmes et la Science en 2003, avec le soutien de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO. Grâce au programme, des bourses ont été décernées à près de 50 scientifiques canadiennes d'exception.

 

 

« Les boursières de la cuvée 2015 du programme L’Oréal Canada Pour les Femmes et la Science incarnent toutes les valeurs d’excellence, de dépassement et d’innovation que nous souhaitons encourager et soutenir, en collaboration avec la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO », a déclaré monsieur Frank Kollmar, président-directeur général de L'Oréal Canada.  « Elles sont la preuve même de l’importance et de l’apport des femmes dans les carrières scientifiques, alors que par leur travail exceptionnel, ces chercheuses canadiennes contribuent à l’avancement de la science et de la connaissance ».

 

 

Lancement du programme L’Oréal Canada Pour les Filles et la Science

L’Oréal Canada a profité de cette cérémonie pour réitérer son engagement envers la promotion des carrières scientifiques chez les femmes par la mise en place d’un programme inédit destiné aux étudiants de niveau secondaire. Cette initiative, nommée L’Oréal Canada Pour les Filles et la Science et entreprise en partenariat avec la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO et l’organisme Science Jeunesse Canada, marque une nouvelle étape dans l’engagement de l’entreprise.

 

Au printemps 2016, les étudiants des écoles du réseau UNESCO, filles et garçons, prendront part à des ateliers interactifs conçus pour rendre les carrières scientifiques plus attrayantes à leurs yeux et, par le fait même, pour démystifier les stéréotypes tenaces sur les femmes qui œuvrent dans ces professions.

 

Pour ce faire, l’ensemble des boursières L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science ainsi que des scientifiques féminines de L’Oréal Canada seront mises à contribution à titre de mentors.

 

« C’est à la fois un grand honneur et une grande responsabilité de pouvoir agir comme modèle auprès de ces adolescentes » a déclaré Katherine Farrajota, Chef T.I.S, Affaires scientifiques chez L’Oréal Canada. « Œuvrant nous-mêmes dans le domaine scientifique, nous sommes bien au fait de la nécessité d’intéresser plus de femmes à ces  professions. À ce titre, le programme L’Oréal Canada Pour les Filles et la Science représente une opportunité unique de rejoindre les jeunes filles à un moment où elles sont justement en réflexion sur leur avenir professionnel. »

Les boursières participeront notamment à la création de capsules web destinées aux filles de 15 à 18 ans afin de les informer et de les accompagner  dans leur processus d’orientation.

Professeur Molly S. Shoichet de l’Université de Toronto a été sélectionnée par un jury international indépendant comme l’une des cinq lauréates mondiales du programme (représentant l’Amérique du Nord) pour ses travaux en chimie des Polymères. De plus, la boursière postdoctorale Vanessa D’Costa de l’Université de Toronto s’est mérité l’une des quinze bourses décernées à de jeunes talents.

Lien pour appliquer: https://juno.aucc.ca/wes/hes.aspx?pg=934&oth=0005342016

Lien vers la Commission Canada pour l’UNESCO: http://unesco.ca/